Below is a list of all the Fairey boats along with their race numbers that took part in all the various Powerboat Races over many years both here in the UK and overseas.

We've included some photos from racing days and events over the years. Click on the small images to see a larger one.


Huntress 23
28Fairey Huntress
30The Lesser Nit
303Fairey Huntress
303Waterline Huntress
701Maid of Baltimore
Huntsman 28
1 Huntsman
8 Huntsman
8 Seven Dials
009 Fiducia
27 Here and Now
(also raced as Fairey Huntsman and Diesel Huntsman)
31 Michelle
38 Sea Plough
202 Guiding Light II
203 Flower Power
212 Fast Lady
215 Seven Dials
333 Fairey Huntsman
505 Maidfast
560 John Peel
606 Seaspray
808 Fordpower
909 Fordspeed
919 Sabre Dance
999 Sea Plough
Huntsman 31
8 Eight Dials
200 Double Century
215 Spirit of Michaelhouse
675 Lady-B (raced in the 1971 Cowes Torquay and Poole races)
630 Spica
707 Seven-O-Seven
Swordsman 33
21 Frivola
28 Swordsman Brown
636 Sou Too
303 Gusty of Hamble
272 Ford Fantasy
747 Miss Daisy
174 Basta


Of note are the 11 Fairey boats listed below which raced against 57 other competitors in the 1970 Cowes - Torquay Race.

303 Fairey HuntressRay Sibley/Charles Currey30th
701 Maid of BaltimoreBrian Hanham27th
009 FiduciaLady Aitken/Lady Arran25th
334 NeedlenoseDonald Legg/Miss E. Hawkes31st
505 MaidfastGeoffrey Marshretired near Torquay
560 John PeelMartyn Harfield/M. Delingpolehit rocksoff Portland/refloated
809 FordpowerJeffrey Le Poiderin34th
909 FordspeedJohn Freeman/ Col. Ronnie Hoare16th
919 SabredanceJohn Rowe23rd
630 SpicaDr. Donald Harrocks22nd
707 Seven-O-SevenPeter Twiss/Alex Moulton17th
Also competing was Alan Burnard's own boat 711 Sea Fox which finished 14th.


The 1970 Race Prize List

Fuel Economy prize & Lowest Powered Finisher prize:
Fairey Huntress (Charles Currey)

Production Class prize:
Fordspeed (Col Ronnie Hoare)

Ladies' prize:
Fiducia (Lady Aitken & Lady Arran)

Youngest Driver prize:
Sabre Dance (John Rowe)

NOT A LOT OF PEOPLE KNOW THIS BUT... Between the years 1961 and 1973 the total number of awards won by Fairey Marine cruisers in powerboat races was 148. In addition to this was an impresive tally of 54 awards for races in 1969 alone. This makes a grand total of 202 awards in 12 years or almost 17 awards per year!!